Lost Scrolls of Archimedes (Lost Artifacts)
top of page

Royal Palm Literary Awards Press Release

for Lost Scrolls of Archimedes

Logo of the Florida Writers Association

“Writers Helping Writers”

Contact: Chris Coward

Email: rplarubrics@comcast.net

FWA Website: www.floridawriters.net


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE. October 21, 2019: Orlando, Florida. The Florida Writers Association, Inc., (FWA) has announced that Tom Roberts of Pensacola, Florida won a prestigious Royal Palm Literary Award (RPLA). Tom’s winning entry, Lost Scrolls of Archimedes, won the Gold award for Unpublished Historical Fiction Novel. The manuscript placed 4th overall for Unpublished Book of the Year for all genre categories.

The award was announced at FWA’s recent four-day annual conference in Altamonte Springs, Florida. This annual competition, which received 513 qualified submissions, was RPLA’s eighteenth.

“This is the most competitive RPLA we’ve ever had,” said Chris Coward, RPLA chairperson. “The RPLA administrative team, judges, and entrants did an amazing job.”

In all, the competition covered 28 adult genres and 5 Youth genres, with published and unpublished entries considered separately. There were five grand awards, as well.

  • Published Book of the Year: Historical Fiction, by Mark H. Newhouse

  • Unpublished Book of the Year: Young Adult OR New Adult, by Robin Mimna

  • Best Children’s Book: Children’s Picture Book, by Rita M. Boehm

  • The Dahris Clair Memorial Award for Plays: by Al Pessin.

  • The Candice Coghill Memorial Award for the best youth entry: “Michael,” Poetry, by Samantha Leslie in the 12-15 age category

“A win at any level can help any writer market their manuscript or published book, and the detailed feedback from the judges is invaluable for all entrants,” Ms. Coward said.

“It is a real honor to receive this type of recognition,” said Mr. Roberts. “I know FWA works hard for months judging the submissions. It is a great organization for Florida writers.”

The Florida Writers Association, 1,500 members strong and growing, is a nonprofit 501(c)(6) organization that supports the state’s established and emerging writers. Membership is open to the public.

The Royal Palm Literary Awards competition is a service of the Florida Writers Association established to recognize excellence in its members’ published and unpublished works while providing objective and constructive written assessments for all entrants.

For additional information, visit the FWA website: floridawriters.net, where you’ll also find more about RPLA and the complete list of 2019 winners.

bottom of page